The Museum’s greatest treasure is the restored Heritage Station built in 1888 at Lilydale and relocated to Yarra Junction in (circa)1915. It is a delight; the fresh paint glistens and the new red oxide roof, chimney pot and finials all enhance your visit.
Inside the walls are painted in Victorian Railway shades of dark leather, light leather, stone with off white trims and the 1888 Baltic floors are truly magnificent. The windows have been exposed and the fireplaces revealed.
The original station rooms have been renamed and will, in future, house both permanent and rotating exhibitions. The Ticket Room the largest of these rooms, already boasts a collection of donated items and a military display. The adjacent general waiting room contains the indigenous exhibition while the Ladies waiting room is representative of a lady’s lifestyle of the 1880’s period.
The 2 other Heritage buildings include VR No 320, a Departmental residence relocated from the Sandringham line [it was a gate house] now called the porters cottage has a static collection of domestic items donated from the Upper Yarra in the 1900s plus a laundry and a precast concrete pan toilet and the railway galvanised iron clad former Goods shed.
Relocated 2 two-man workers huts from the 1950’s Upper Yarra dam, the 1920s Powelltown police station, Yarra Junction Lock-up, bush shack , the open, themed sheds (timber, tramways, gold, engines, machinery), Bob Logan’s garage complete the visitor’s experience.
Books for sale, informative signage and four continuous audio-visual presentations positioned throughout the precinct complement the exhibits.